You never outgrow your parents?

My parents are moving out of state. I am devastated. I am almost 31 years old.

They had been talking about moving for some time now. Empty-nesters, they no longer were tied down to a job. They wanted to be somewhere warmer. Doing something on their own terms. I get it. After raising my younger sister and I, they totally deserve to do what they want for once. At least that’s what the adult-me is saying.

The child-me is saying “Why are you leaving? Don’t leave me! I need you.”

Now I’m with a loving partner, mother to three girls, homeowner, and a helping professional. I should be fine. And I will be fine. But there is that part of me that is panicking a little.

Oye. We never outgrow the need for our parents, huh?

-M

Leave a Reply

